Cartago, Costa Rica

Cartago is one of the most important provinces in Costa Rica, this city was founded in 1563 by Spanish conquistador Juan Vasquez de Coronado; this zone was headquarters of the first permanent international court of world history, the Central American Court of Justice. Since its foundation until the separation of Costa Rica of Spain in 1821 was the residence of the governors and leading authorities, as well as the wealthiest and most influential families in the country. However, their low social and economic development during Spanish domination, and recurrent natural disasters, made its historical roots are cleared. The city has a historical center of 22 avenues and 26 streets, from east-west, from the General Cemetery to the Basilica of the Angels, and north-south from the Antigua Command to the new Municipal campus, a center history of about 10 square kilometers.

This area includes thirteen districts of four cantons of Cartago: Occidental, Oriental, Guadalupe, El Carmen, Dulce Nombre, San Nicolás (Taras), Agua Caliente, Paraíso, Llanos de Santa Lucía, San Rafael, El Tejar y San Isidro de El Guarco. Its area of influence covers the Alvarado canton, La Union and the cantons in south of the Saints zones of San Jose. Cartago has a humid tropical climate, modified by the height and the presence of mountains. In general, that combines the kind of climate in the foothills of the Caribbean with the climate of the foothills of the Pacific. It is characterized by moderate rainfall and cool temperatures. It maintains rainfall near the 2000 mm per year, with 128 days with rain and one dry month. The average maximum temperature is 26 degrees Celsius and the average minimum of 15 degrees.

Main attractives

Cartago has many tourist attractions, visit this beautiful province and enjoy these great places.

Cartago Ruins

Read More

  • Nationwide Transfer
    Hotel To Hotel

  • San José Airport
    Transfer: In-Out